Easy Ribbon-Wrapped Wreath

Once upon a time, when I wanted to buy a pretty wreath for our front door, and didn’t want to pay the $50 + sticker price of the ones on Etsy, I decided that I would try to make one myself. I went to Michae’ls, bought a wreath and some silk flowers and went home to see if I could do it. Well, I found my true calling…wreath design. No, really…I love it. I cannot draw, paint or sing and have always felt I was missing my ” special talent”. Okay, so maybe wreath design isn’t all that difficult, but I do think  you have to have a certain eye for the flowers and the layout. I made  my first wreath last spring, fell in love, and promply made wreaths for my mom and MIL for Mother’s Day, picking flowers that suited their personalities. I was officially hooked. And, with the coupons and sales at Michaels, I could make a beautiful wreath for a fraction of what they cost on Etsy. Today, I went to Michael’s to get some pink flowers to make a Valentine’s Day/rest of winter wreath. I decided that a twig/wood wreath wasn’t what I wanted as my base, so I picked up a styrofoam wreath and decided to take a new approach. Below are step by step instructions on how to create a ribbon-wrapped wreath. The great thing about this is that you can use any colors you like!

Neccessities:

Ribbon (not sheer, unless you want to do several layers of ribbon)

Silk flowers to match

Styrofoam wreath (14 inches is what I used)

Glue gun

How To:

1. Hot glue one end of the ribbon onto the wreath. Then wrap the ribbon around the entire wreath, overlapping slightly. You don’t want to overlap very much, or you will run out of ribbon. (It took me 3 tries to cover the whole thing). I used the entire roll of ribbon, which was 4 yards. Make sure you wrap the ribbon really tight or you will gett little wrinkles in the ribbon.

2. Once you have wrapped the ribbon around fully, hot glue the other end…try to get this on the back side. I just dabbed a little bit under the ribbon, so there wouldn’t be a big hot glue glob on the outside.

3. Pull the flowers off of the stems. If you pull underneath the flower head, it should pop right off…no wire cutters needed.

4. Arrange the flowers onto the wreath in a way that looks nice to you.

5. Once you have the flowers where you want them, start hot gluing! Be sure to make sure they are secure, especially if your wreath will be exposed to alot of wind.

6. Once the flowers are in place and glued, I like to go back and and some extra glue just to make sure they are sturdy.

7. Let dry and hang on your door!

This whole project took me about an hour and was a nice way to relax and end the holiday season. Oh! Total cost? Just under $15. (I already had the glue gun). I think next time I will use a patterned ribbon, but I just loved those polka dot flowers!

Happy Wreath Making!

xo

Amy

One thought on “Easy Ribbon-Wrapped Wreath

  1. Pingback: DIY Team Game Day Wreath |

Leave a comment